Run the race set before me…


Helen Keller “I long to accomplish a great and noble task, but it is my chief duty to accomplish small tasks as if they were great and noble.”

in the beginning.

I never would have believed you if you told me that 14 years after this picture… I would still be in youth ministry, and have 4 beautiful children. Wow, how time flies by… If there is one piece of advice I could give and take for myself it would be to enjoy your now! Seasons…. my prayer is that we stop looking to the past and our own expectations of today and tomorrow to determine our joy level. I admit that I have easily fallen prey to a negative spirit when doing the mundane, everyday things. But my greatest joy is this season of life…my now. Even the mundane things can be seen as purpose- filled when my perspective of my season is correct.

9 years ago I was expecting our first child… and 9 years later, I am still changing diapers, cleaning up toys, wiping up spilled food and drink from the floor, and yes… even still nursing. Sometimes our now seems like a very long season… But God!!! But God, is the strength of our heart and a very present help….  The goal God has in mind for today, is not to daydream about the things that we wish we were experiencing… but to serve, love and fulfill our God-given assignment today as if it were a grandest task. As we continue to work out our daily salvation, God comes and literally saves us from our own perspective. As our perspectives for this season of life get fully lined up with God’s perspective, He begins give us joy in our now. His mercies are new every morning, joy comes in the morning, Great is His faithfulness!

Whatever your season is now, it leads you to the next season… be faithful with now, and God will have prepared and fashioned you to fulfill His dreams for tomorrow. My now, raising 4 Godly children who will grow up to love and adore God, serve God’s purpose in their Generation, and fulfill the call on their lives…. My mundane tasks of endless cycles of housework, and homework, and discipline will all pay the most amazing and wonderful rewards in the next season. I cannot wait to see God’s plan for our family at work.

How to enjoy your now and “run with perseverance the race marked out for us- Heb. 12:1”:

1- Pray for people with every task… keep the goal in mind

2- Release forgiveness fast! You will have endless opportunities to be offended when things don’t go the way you wish they were. Let it Go… run to God and let Him be your defender. He can speak to people better than you can.

3- Get rid of selfish thinking. “and let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles – Heb. 12:1” This one is hardest… blame-shifting and reasoning our thinking because after-all, if only “that person” would_____(fill in the blank)… God knows. “For you are still controlled by your sinful nature. You are jealous of one another and quarrel with each other. Doesn’t that prove you are controlled by your sinful nature? Aren’t you living like people of the world? – I Cor. 3:3″ ouch. We must watch our attitudes and our words carefully.

4- Write down the promises in your heart for your loved ones and yourself… pray over them often. “People without vision perish – Prov. 29 :18″

5- Take a break and have fun! If you are overwhelmed with the amount of “stuff” in your day… take quick break and get your perspective right… play with the kids, get your devotions on, start on a hobby.

6- Throw your hands up… ok, not saying to give up. My littlest boy is one… when he wants me and finally nothing else will distract him… he runs to me and throws his hands in the air… and will not give up until I pick him up and comfort him.  How long has it been since you threw your hands up to God then you allowed him to truly comfort you?

Its time to Run this race in order to win… remember the promises:

All my love- Elana

Leave a Reply

