Ever feel like it’s hopeless? New Blog Post


Have you ever woken up grumpy? That was me yesterday!  I looked around and all I could see were problems, messes and piles around the house. I didn’t even know where to start. My feeling was “it’s hopeless”. I”m sure we all feel this way from time to time. Sometimes, it’s a child, job, or a friend we are praying for. Sometimes it’s an assignment or direction God is leading us into.  Maybe  it’s an attitude or sin that we seem to keep on falling back into. As we look at the magnitude of what needs to change, we can often feel as I did “It’s hopeless!”

As I made some coffee and sat down to devotions I read this scripture and it just about described how I felt about cleaning my house.. Jeremiah 18:12 12“But (K)they will say, ‘It’s hopeless! For we are going to follow our own plans, and each of us will act according to the (L)stubbornness of his evil heart.”

I love, love, being a mom and a wife, however, I do not take much satisfaction from the job title of housekeeper. I do love a clean house, but sometimes getting it clean is overwhelming.  I fully admit that this a constant area of attitude adjustment for me. lol.  As I sat there, tears in my eyes, and frustration in my heart, I realized that I had begun the day in my own strength.

Here’s a few suggestions to overcome a feeling of hopelessness:

1. Go to God as your source of strength and joy everyday! Just as manna was for the Isrealites, God’s new mercies and grace must be applied everyday… otherwise we will look at our world as Hopeless. Remember, a defeated Christian is useless in the Kingdom of God, and hopelessness is the sneaky little trick the enemy wants us to fall into.

2. Put your eyes on Jesus and off of your circumstances. We are not defeated, we are overcomers in Jesus… So as I sat there in my bad attitude & feelings of defeat, I was reminded of the Great Big God I serve, and how He has more than enough hope and direction for me. My job and circumstances did not change, but my focus sure did. As soon as I changed my attitude, the whole family decided to kick in and help clean up willingly… daily miracles are waiting for us. :o)

Today, whatever is making you feel hopeless, let me remind you… Put your eyes on Jesus, and off your circumstances. He will change your perspective, if you let Him.

Psalm 31:24
Be strong and let your heart take courage,All you who hope in the LORD.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Danielle says:

    Wow! its awesome how God knows exactly what you need when you need it and I sure needed that and i read it a few days later then when you had posted it but thats because i didnt need it a few days ago i really needed it today! thank you so much for your posts i always seem to read them when i needed to hear it :o)

    Like

  2. ruzanne says:

    Nice, spiritually-rooted and very positive post! It’s natural to get that feeling of hopelessness. After all, life isn’t a bed of roses. But so true. When we’re anchored on strong, striving faith, we make matters lighter and what we see ahead is just big hope. In Him, nothing is impossible; with Him, we get by with strength and positivity; through Him, we feel secure. Thanks for this reminder! Keep posting!

    Like

    1. bayareamomma says:

      Thanks Ruzanne :o)

      Like

Leave a Reply

