Simple joys.


My little guy, Ethan is 1 1/2. Today he is running around the house loving life. Nothing really bothers him. He is satisfied with the funniest things… like a broken piece of stair railing, or junk mail. One of his favorite past times is emptying the DVD storage and leaving them all over the living room as decoration. He loves flushing the toilet, and throwing rocks. And randomly, he comes to me to give me a sweet kiss and a hug. Can I just say it now? I am smitten with this kid! In fact, right now i just found him outside in the back yard laughing as he made the flip top on the garbage can go up and down by using the foot pedal. Don’t you wish we could enjoy life like that? I think we can! God is smitten with us, and as we delight in, surrender to, and follow Him, we can find joy!

I am reminded of how key it is to choose joy…in the little things.

How?

Know where your true joy comes from!! Our joy does not come from all our circumstances lining up, but as a free gift from God. True joy does not change our circumstances, but rather give us the right perspective on our circumstances.

psalm 5:11-12 But let all those rejoice who put their trust in You; Let them ever shout for joy, because You defend them; Let those also who love Your name Be joyful in You. For You, O LORD, will bless the righteous; With favor You will surround him as with a shield.

Let God’s Joy be your strength. We don’t have to do this alone, we don’t have to come up with fake happiness, but our right relationship with God brings us peace in our hearts. A heart at peace with God will trust Him in every circumstance and as a result JOY will follow. God alone is your strength and Joy is evidence of the Holy Spirit working in our lives.

A Joyful person enjoys life, even the simple things in life!

Nehemiah 8:10 “Do not be grieved, for the joy of the LORD is your strength

Watch out for Joy Stealers. The number one joy stealer is the conversation going on in our own hearts.  As adults things come at us everyday that can easily steal our joy. I know it is so easy to feel less than joyful when life is full of frustrations. But as we walk through life, stop and see what the overflow of your heart is saying…. A negative outlook on life will produce only negative fruit.

ps. 28:7 The LORD is my strength and shield. I trust him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.

Joy is a gift, I believe it is a “God perspective” on life!!!!   But we have to choose to reach out our hand and receive it. Today I hope you will choose Joy. Today, allow God’s perspective to help you see things like Ethan does, with simple, uncomplicated joy.


4 Comments Add yours

  1. JDaniel4's Mom says:

    I live his ability to see small things and find so much joy in them. I found you on Mom Loop.

    Like

    1. bayareamomma says:

      Oh very cool… and my little ethan is a treasure… so fun to watch what makes him happy.

      Like

  2. Tamarae Arisco says:

    “True joy does not change our circumstances, but rather give us the right perspective on our circumstances.”

    Love it! Joy is not a temporary attitude!

    Like

  3. sodizzy says:

    Awesome, Elana! so like you. A true treasure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

