Window Shopping.


I Love shopping!!!!!!!! Well, actually, I am a terrible shopper, I take way way too long to decide on what i should buy. I guess I like too many things and having to decide which fantastic new item I should take home always makes the trip 5x’s as long as it should. And inevitably the thing that I pick out is either out of stock or doesn’t fit properly. lol. The truth is that I LOVE window shopping. I love looking at the latest fashion, choosing what I think are must have items…. I have an endless budget available and can pick out anything I want. I can always immediately decide whether I love the item or not and I never have to endure the pain of  trying it on. The problem with window shopping is that you come home empty handed with a heart full of drempt about items.

I think that in our Christian walk we often do a whole lot of window shopping. We read the bible and underline, We hear a message and “amen” it, We talk about Godly things and feel inspired, but we find ourselves at home in the midst of daily life, empty handed.

James 1:22 “But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.”

Window shopping in Christianity leaves us powerless.  We never took the principles home, put them on and applied them to life. We feel out of touch with God, and wish we could “just hear His voice”.

The problem: God has been speaking loud and clear, but we just walked right past Him when we were “window shopping” in church or our bible study time. When I window shop I feel like I really don’t have a desperate immediate need  for what I am seeing. Sometimes we fail to hear God because we think the word doesn’t really apply at the time… the reality is that every word is a word that we need to have stored in our hearts for later, either for ourselves or for another person.

Today in the middle of your crazy busy day, I want to challenge you to take a few extra minutes and remember the things God has been speaking to you through the Word of God, Church and your mentors. Ask God to help you walk them out, apply them to life and your situations right now….You are gonna feel so much better dressed for your day! :o)

Prov. 31:25 “She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future.”

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I loved this post. I am very often guilty of this same exact thing.

    Like

    1. bayareamomma says:

      Thanks for dropping by Tiffany. :o)

      Like

Leave a Reply

