In Your Face.


The kids are off to school and you can find me lounging in my room with my laptop open and a hot cup of coffee…. My two year old comes in Mommmmmmmy, mommy, mommy, mommy! I answer and smile, but an answer is not what he is looking for. He climbs up to me, and makes his way onto my lap in between my computer and me. I am desperately trying to balance my computer and the wigglefest that is happening… when my little guy turns around, closes the computer and triumphantly takes his place, IN my face… or sometimes on my face, or head or wherever he feels is the closest he can get to me. I LOVE this guy!

He knows exactly how to get my attention. AND, the only way to really get his attention is to be in His face.

Today, he was asking over and over again where his brother was… I  answered every time, but he only really heard and understood my answer when he climbed up next to me and saw\heard what I was answering.

When He needs to obey, I gently hold his little cheeks and ask him to look in my eyes and say “ok mommy”… the funny thing is that until he looks in my eyes and says ok, it’s like his little heart doesn’t think he has to obey, When he finally looks me in the eyes and says “ok mommy”… I have an instantly obedient 2yr old. I LOVE it!

I’m pretty sure it’s like this with God. We just need to push away all the distractions and get up in his face :o)   I think so often we are calling out for an answer, for peace, for joy… but we are walking around and around our situations forgetting that all we need to get we the answer is to get right up next to God, sometimes we even know the answer and we just need to take a minute to look in His eyes, see that He is trustworthy and say ok! – He is answering but we are distracted with what we see around us… we need to take a little time and be like my 2yr old… God LOVES it when we get in His face!

1 Chronicles 16:11 Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.

Psalm 27:8 My heart says of you, “Seek his face!” Your face, LORD, I will seek.

Psalm 105:4 Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.

Leave a Reply

