Honor


 

Day 11 Ephesians 6:1-9

I grew up in a family of 6 and my 18 year old self would be surprised that I now have my own family of six, I remember how as a child I was taught to obey & honor my parents. To obey my parents as a child was not an option, I didn’t get to decide if I felt like it or if I was too tired to obey. They had curfews and taught me that being on time was the expectation. They expected me to not only know right from wrong but live my life like it. I had to be polite to total strangers that my parents knew. Going to church was not an option – It was a way of life for my family all the time, Our family was there every time the doors were open. And we were volunteers there.  They told me what I could wear and where I could go.  As I grew up I asserted my opinion and found that it clashed with my parents rules. Wasn’t that a nice way of putting it? lol. In about jr. High my parents st  arted to hear the ever faithful “It’s not fair” and  “you’re too strict”.  I then had to get my own jobs to buy things. I had to babysit before I was 16 if i wanted extra money to go to camp. I had to get a real job to pay for gas and insurance if I wanted to drive my parents car. I had to buy the things I wanted. I was not allowed to date if my dad had not already approved. I felt so sheltered. I had to do all this until I left for college. 

The first commandment with a promise.  The first verse we see in this part of scripture is Children obey your parents in the Lord for this is right. The second verse is Honor your mom and dad…. this is the one that comes with a promise.

As you can see above, my parents forced  me to obey them and honor them…. then I had to also do the same thing when I encountered others. By the time I was 18 and was living away from home… I had already begun to appreciate the firm way my parents raised me. You see they believed the Word of God and understood that it was thier job to TEACH me to obey and honor them. It was THEIR JOB to teach me to obey the rules in front of me and determine right from wrong making decisions based on it. Yes – they were strict…. but when I got that job at 16 I knew how to work hard, follow the guidelines, respect the manager with a good attitude and not run a red light on the way to work because I had figured out how to leave for work with enough time to get there. I had HONOR embedded into my character.  As I continued to grow up… I saw how everything they “forced” me to do at home was beneficial for my life as an adult. Even going to church all the time developed a love in me for the people & House of God and now I “get” to be in church, LOVING my call as a pastor and church planter.

It breaks my heart today to see so many children who are not taught to obey. My own children are still learning… but I am diligently and fervently teaching them to obey and honor me…. why? because it come s with a promise from God:   “things will go well for you and you will enjoy long life on the earth.” 

This portion of scripture is one of the most important and foundation laying in the whole bible. It is practical. It is written to the parent as well as the child. Both are responsible for it…. and then God even puts this little line in: obey you parents in the Lord …. meaning as long as it is legal and doesn’t go against scripture, God was already making guidelines for the kids who would not have good parents and might lead them to into bad situations.

God also warns parents: do not provoke your children to anger by the way you treat them. Rather, bring them up with the DISCIPLINE & INSTRUCTION that comes from the Lord.
Bottom line: basics of parenting:
Teach your children
to Obey & Honor 
by following up with Discipline & Instruction
that is not angry but consistent with the word of God.
.
Slavery in Ephesians spoke to those who were “bound” to  work for another person. If you were not a slave, you worked for yourself. Slavery was a staple of Greek history and so paul addressed it. We are “bound” today to our jobs… we must work to live.  If you are an adult and these two things are not working in your life already… God wants to be the one who teaches you and rearranges your thinking… why?
.
When you see the order God is doing things in this part of scripture you begin to see why obeying and honoring your parents is so important. 
.
It sets the pace for us to live a good long life.It is the basics of life… obey the guidelines of your world. A way to obey the laws of the land and be a good employee or boss. They are safety for you. Honor those who you work for and those in your life…. Honor is an attitude. It is not always earned. It is given. It is a recipe for success and joy in life.
.
Think about ways we use the word: Honor roll, medal of honor, maid of honor,  ect.
Here after we speak to parents and children, we speak to real life… our work life.
.
What if we used Boss and Employee for these scriptures: look at how it applys. so cool!
  •  “Employees, obey your earthly Boss with deep respect and fear.
  • Serve them sincerely as you would serve Christ.
  •  Try to please them all the time, not just when they are watching you
  • but serve them as workers of Christ, like you are doing the will of God with all your heart.
  •  Work with enthusiasm, wholeheartedly, 100% as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.
Remember that the Lord will reward each one of us for the good we do, whether we are Employees or Bosses
  • Bosses, treat your employees in the same way. Don’t threaten them; remember, you both have the same Boss in heaven, and he has no favorites.

.

We need more Honor in this world. We need to be people of honor. Honest, truthful, respectful, hard working, reputable people with a good name.

.

I ue this scripture when feeling like i am a “slave” to laundry and house cleaning…. Work as unto the Lord. Honor God and Honor people. It works. What are you a “slave” to?

use this scripture….It is a power packed formula for peace and joy. Get it!

.

Oh and don’t worry… my next post is the next part of Ephesians 6- here is a teaser: “Be strong in the LORD and in HIS mighty power” It will rock your world. God shows us he has not left us to just do this  honoring  and obeying and working on our own, but He is also giving us the power and ability to do it with HIS help….LOVE it.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

