A future and a hope


cropped-img_2885.jpgSource: For I know the plans I have for you,” says the lord . “They are plans for good and not for…

HEY YOU- guess what?? Our favorite scripture… You know…. Jeremiah 29:11 – It was not written to a people just to encourage them. It was written to Israel in a time when they had just been taken captive.This letter was even potentially written to the group that included Daniel, Shadrack, Mishack, and abendigo. It was written in a time when they had just LOST EVERYTHING. When they were prisoners without any hope. So this verse is not just a feel good verse. it is written in context to a people who were in distress and needed help and hope. Maybe it will help you to hear what God says in these kind of situations – maybe today you are in a place you never wanted to be, maybe you are feeling like you have lost everything- here is what God says:

“This is what the lord of Heaven’s Armies, the God of Israel, says to all the captives he has exiled to Babylon from Jerusalem: 5“Build homes, and plan to stay. Plant gardens, and eat the food they produce. 6Marry and have children. Then find spouses for them so that you may have many grandchildren. Multiply! Do not dwindle away! 7 And work for the peace and prosperity of the city where I sent you into exile. Pray to the lord for it, for its welfare will determine your welfare.10This is what the lord says: “You will be in Babylon for seventy years. But then I will come and do for you all the good things I have promised, and I will bring you home again. 11FOR I KNOW THE PLANS I HAVE FOR YOU,” SAYS THE LORD. “THEY ARE PLANS FOR GOOD AND NOT FOR DISASTER, TO GIVE YOU A FUTURE AND A HOPE. 12IN THOSE DAYS WHEN YOU PRAY, I WILL LISTEN. 13IF YOU LOOK FOR ME WHOLEHEARTEDLY, YOU WILL FIND ME. 14I WILL BE FOUND BY YOU,” SAYS THE LORD. “I will end your captivity and restore your fortunes. I will gather you out of the nations where I sent you and will bring you home again to your own land.”

Leave a Reply

